Skip to main content

Patient Information

The Nephrology and Transplant Directorate is responsible for the management of the main Renal Unit in the University Hospital of Wales, the five satellite Dialysis Units and the outreach Nephrology Clinics in three other Health Board regions.

The Directorate itself consists of several departments providing specialist treatment for a number of services to renal patients.

The Directorate is responsible for the care of the patient from first referral, pre dialysis and, where applicable, through any Renal Replacement Therapy the patient chooses, to regular follow up checks in one of our Outpatient Clinics.

Clinical Areas

Inpatients: Wards B5 and T5

The two Wards for renal care are B5 (main UHW hospital) and T5 (Cardiff Transplant Unit).

  • Cardiff Transplant Unit (CTU) T5
    The Unit is located in a purpose-built 21 bedded ward, T Block Tertiary Tower (TT5)
  • B5 Nephrology
    This is a 27 bedded area with outpatient haemodialysis facilities.  It cares for all patients with acute or chronic renal disease.

Each area is led by a Ward Manager.

Outpatient Clinic: Tertiary Tower, Upper Ground Floor

There is always a qualified nurse in the clinic Suite working alongside other healthcare professionals.

Transplant clinics are held Monday to Friday morning.  Nephrology clinics are held Monday to Friday afternoon.

A phlebotomy (taking blood samples) service is provided here Monday to Friday.


Main Dialysis Unit: Suite 19 

Suite 19 is a 21 station clinical area, providing Outpatient Haemodialysis.

The Unit Manager is Sister Emma Swales.

The Unit reception contact number is 029 2074 8465. 

Follow us: