Skip to main content

ACHD Learning Disability Support

We work closely with learning disability teams in both primary and secondary care. Our team strive to ensure whenever someone with a learning disability visits a department or is admitted onto a ward; they receive the care and treatment they deserve.  

Our specialist nursing team are ‘learning disability champions’ and will work to ensure: 

  • Early recognition of patients with learning disabilities

  • Dignified, person-centred care and treatment 

  • Effective communication with patients, carers, family members and clinicians 

  • Effective review and discharge planning 

Health profile 

We encourage patients or their families to complete a ‘Health profile’ and bring to their appointments or hospital stays. Using a ‘Health profile’ is the best way to overcome any obstacles as it helps to overcome any communication issues, it provides nurses and clinicians with essential medical information and most importantly will encourage staff  to make any reasonable adjustments  to make the hospital/medical  visit a better experience.  

Learn more about the Health Profile on the Public Health Wales website.  

If you or a family member have an upcoming heart appointment or planned hospital admission and would like to discuss any queries or concerns, please contact our ACHD specialist nurse team on 02921 844580 / achdnurse.cav@wales.nhs.uk  

 

Useful Information to help with your visit 

Blood tests for people with learning disabilities: making reasonable adjustments 

Having a pre-operative check 

For further leaning disability information and support please visit The Paul Ridd Foundation.  

 

Learning disability liaison nurse directory for Wales

 

 

Contact Details 

Aneurin Bevan University Health Board 

ALNs cover all Hospitals: 
 
Royal Gwent Hospital 
St. Cadoc's Hospital 
Nevill Hall Hospital 
St Woolos Hospital 
Ysbyty Aneurin Bevan 
Ysbyty Ystrad Fawr Hospital 
Chepstow Community Hospital 
Monnow Vale Hospital 
County Hospital 
 
From November, covering: 
The Grange University Hospital 

Michelle Williams 
07969 001494 
Michelle.williams20@wales.nhs.uk 
 
Danielle Evans (currently away from post) 
07814 301047 
Danielle.Evans2@wales.nhs.uk 

Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board 

Ysbyty Gwynedd 

Sian Lewis 
07833 634492 
Sian.Lewis2d012a@wales.nhs.uk 

Ysbyty Glan Clwyd 

Simon Meadowcroft 
07919 302312 
Simon.meadowcroft@wales.nhs.uk 
 
Nicola Lamb 
07900 052095 
Nicola.Lamb@wales.nhs.uk 

Wrexham Maelor 

Matron – Kim Scandariato 
07966 511085 
kim.scandariato@wales.nhs.uk 

Cardiff and Vale University Health Board 

University Hospital of Wales 

Rhiannon Smith (Currently away from post) 
02921 847174 
Rhiannon.smith4@wales.nhs.uk 
 
Nesta Narbad 
02921 847170 
Nesta.Narbad@wales.nhs.uk 
 
SBU.LDLiaisonNursesUHW@wales.nhs.uk 

Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board 

Prince Charles Hospital 

Beth Williams 
07929 773449 
Beth.Williams4@wales.nhs.uk 

Princess of Wales Hospital 

Judith Wall 
01656 752266 
07976 371249 
Judith.Wall@wales.nhs.uk 

Royal Glamorgan 

Judith Wall & Beth Williams 
01443 443443 ext 6378 
or details as above. 

Hywel Dda University Health Board 

Bronglais Hospital 

Teresa Hassell 
07896 929433 
Teresa.hassell@wales.nhs.uk 

Withybush Hospital 
Prince Phillip Hostpial 

Lisa-Marie Hassall 
Learning Disability Community Nurse/ Acute Health Facilitation Nurse 
Lisa-marie.hassell@wales.nhs.uk 
01437 772819 

Glangwili Hospital 

Linda Phillips 
07799 891441 
Linda.Phillips@wales.nhs.uk 

Health Action Team 

Professional Lead for Liaison Nursing – Laura Andrews 
07482 190557 
Laura.a.andrews@wales.nhs.uk 
 
ldhealthliaison.HDD@wales.nhs.uk 

Powys Teaching Health Board 

North Powys 

Deborah O'Shea - Community Learning Disability Nurse 
01686 617373 
07814 625265 
Deborah.O'Shea@wales.nhs.uk 

South Powys Learning Disability Team 
Bronllys Hospital 

Catherine Davies - Community Care Liaison Nurse Learning Disabilities 
07980 944954 
01874 712644 
Catherine.Davies240760@wales.nhs.uk 

Swansea Bay University Health Board 

Morriston Hospital 

Kara Knowles 
01792 702222 ext 32959 
Karajoanne.knowles@wales.nhs.uk 

Neath Port Talbot Hospital 

Sharon Dixon and Helen Lewis (Job share) 
01639 862000 or 07974 640582 or 07973 867261 
Sharon.Dixon2@wales.nhs.uk 
Helen.Lewis10@wales.nhs.uk 

Singleton Hospital 

Helen Lewis and Sharon Dixon (Job share) 
01792 205666 or 07974 640582 or 07973 867261 
Helen.Lewis10@wales.nhs.uk 
Sharon.Dixon2@wales.nhs.uk